'Terrible call' - Owen Farrell appears to get off Scot-free after latest questionable hit
Owen Farrell is the subject of debate yet again online after the England centre appeared to get away with a hit that left both he and his intended target, Italy’s Stephen Varney, clutching their heads.
The incident occurred just before Anthony Watson’s intercept try in the 54th minute, when TMO Joy Neville requested a review of a contact in the lead up to the try. Both players were left on the ground, with head to had contact having clearly been made.
However, having reviewed the footage, referee Mike Adamson adjudged that it had been a chest to chest contact.
Officials also appeared to ignore that the contact appeared to be clearly late, Farrell colliding with Varney well after he had passed the ball.
“That’s a late hit on a player with his back turned from Farrell, James Gaskell got binned for Wasps for similar last week, consistency?!,” wrote Andy Goode.
That’s a late hit on a player with his back turned from Farrell, James Gaskell got binned for Wasps for similar last week, consistency?! ?????
— Andy Goode (@AndyGoode10) February 13, 2021
“It appears Owen Farrell’s head is not in contact with Varney’s despite him immediately holding it after the late hit! Strange call from officials. Farrell a lucky lad.”
It appears Owen Farrell’s head is not in contact with Varney’s despite him immediately holding it after the late hit! Strange call from officials. Farrell a lucky lad.
— chris jones (@chrisjonespress) February 13, 2021
“Think that’s a terrible call. The problem isn’t a high shot or shoulder charge. It’s a late hit. Faz accelerates into Varney after he’s passed the ball. There’s no prior commitment. The goal here is to put in a cheap shot and take Varney out. It worked a treat.”
Think that's a terrible call. The problem isn't a high shot or shoulder charge. It's a late hit. Faz accelerates into Varney after he's passed the ball. There's no prior commitment. The goal here is to put in a cheap shot and take Varney out.
It worked a treat.
^Fr
— Linebreak Rugby ??????? (@LinebreakRugby) February 13, 2021
There were plenty more in that vein:
Will Owen Farrell ever be penalised for a late hit in his career?
— Max Potterton (@MaxPotterton) February 13, 2021
How does Owen Farrell get away with this week in week out #SixNations
— Paul Canavan (@pookie_1012) February 13, 2021
The ref and TMO when Farrell does something illegal. #ENGvITA pic.twitter.com/3HpJ8W4ir0
— ? (@BAShelley) February 13, 2021
Not how you're supposed to use your arms Farrell…. #ENGvITA
— Hazel Healy (@hazelhealy) February 13, 2021
Can someone explain why that wasn’t a yellow card for a no-arms, late tackle by Farrell #ENGvITA
— Beard Corner Sports (@Beard_Corner) February 13, 2021